Copying this over from thriveforums...

Hey guys,

First a little intro. Feel free to skip this first paragraph if you don't care. I got my thrive a few days ago after being lucky enough to have bought a demo HP Touchpad (which "couldn't" be activated) and being allowed by the retailer to swap it out for a Thrive. So far, I like my Thrive much better (many more ports, already has android, etc.). I've been lurking these forums since I got it, and was able to root it by reading the instructions. I'm not an android developer by any means, but I do know a few programming languages. (This is more or less my first venture into C++, though.) I've been reading all the root and rom development threads to try to catch up, including the one that says not to update when the latest update comes out, because it will make the device unrootable. I haven't updated, and don't plan on it until we find a way to root the device on the new update, which brings me to the point of this thread...