Thread: How to backup ROM

Thanks

How to backup ROM

I am new to tablet ROMs, but have flashed a dozen or so ROMs onto several different Visual Land and other tablets. I have been very hesitant to flash a new ROM onto a tablet that I don't have a good image file to flash back to. This is fine for the Visual Land tablets since the images are available on this forum. I have looked around for a way to backup ROMs on a tablet that I don't have a known good image file, and it appears that ClockworkMod Recovery is the widely used way to recover to a prior ROM. I've tried to install this on the current Allwinner tablet I am working with (Trio Stealth Pro 7C) and when I try to flash the recovery console, I get a "Must Install Manually" message. I have searched and can't find instructions on how to install manually. Also, since the Visual Land tablets are apparently not supported by CWM recovery, there must be some other way people here are backing up their ROMs.

Can someone help or point me to instructions on how to either make an image from the installed ROM on a tablet, or some other way of ROM recovery?

Thanks

Veteran
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Stjohnh View Post

Can someone help or point me to instructions on how to either make an image from the installed ROM on a tablet, or some other way of ROM recovery?

Thanks
    Have you contacted the manufacturer with a "problem" and requested a link to firmware. Just tell them it is stuck at the boot animation

There are a couple reported working Clockwork recovery for the A10s. Google "Allwinner A10 Clockwork Recovery" . I don't know if you have tried any of those, in particular THIS ONE. I think once it's done the only way to access it is to use "adb reboot recovery", the hardware buttons won't start it on boot.